The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) was established in 1995 as one of the divisions under the Department of Health. The FDA division was upgraded to a separate department in April, 2013. The aim of the department is to ensure the safety and quality of Food, Drugs, Medical Devices and Cosmetics in the country. FDA Headquarter is located in Nay Pyi Taw, the capital city of Myanmar, with five major divisions:

Administrative division, Drug Control division, Food Control division, Cosmetic and Medical Device Control division and Laboratory division while preexisting Yangon and Mandalay branches acting are still as major branches, control activities have greatly expanded with the establishment of new FDA branches in other Regions and State. In addition, FDA has also established branches in important border trade zones such as Muse, Kalthaung, Myawaddy and Tamu.
FDA is responsible for issuing GMP certificate for local food manufacturing businesses, import and export recommendation, import and export health certification. Drug control activities include marketing authorization for new product, variation of existing authorization, quality control laboratory testing, adverse drug reaction monitoring, Good Manufacturing Practice inspection and licensing of manufacturers, wholesalers, enforcement activities, drug promotion and advertisements. FDA issues notification and import recommendation of medical devices and notification of cosmetics.

Leave a Reply